Fire Service

Joining the Fire Service

Retained Firefighters

Wicklow Fire Service is a retained fire service. Firefighters are part-time and they generally have other jobs or businessess. The main requirement when recruiting Firefighters is that they live and work within a reasonable distance of the Fire Station and have to have a reasonable level of fitness. The position is open to male and female applicants. Though part-time, recruits undergo extensive initial training including a two week recruit course and a two week breathing apparatus wearers course.

Fire Prevention

Fire Prevention deals with fire safety in the built environment and the safety of persons who occupy buildings. Fire Officers have the powers to serve a Fire Safety Notice or Closure Notice on buildings that are not in compliance with Fire Safety Regulations.

Fire Prevention functions are facilitated by the following legislation:

Fire Operations

Each year between 800 and 1000 calls are attended by the County's Firefighters, ranging from chimney fires to factory fires to road traffic accidents. Wicklow Fire Service has a compliment of 101 firefighters based throughout the county in 10 fire stations.

The ten Retained Fire Brigades in County Wicklow are located as follows:

Fire Service

Wicklow County Council is the Fire Authority for all of County Wicklow including the Town Council areas of Arklow, Bray, Greystones and Wicklow.

The functions of Wicklow County Fire Service are divided into Operations, which deals with the day-to-day management and needs of the ten Fire Brigades and Fire Stations, Prevention, which deals with fire safety in the built environment generally and the safety of persons who occupy and use certain types of buildings and Major Emergency Planning.

Major Emergency Management

Wicklow Local Authorities have prepared a Major Emergency Plan in accordance with ‘A Framework for Major Emergency Management’ published by the Department of the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, the Department of Health and Children and the Department of Justice in September 2006. The purpose of this plan is to put in place arrangements that will enable the three Principal Response Agencies (An Garda Síochána, the Health Service Executive and the Local Authorities) to coordinate their efforts whenever a major emergency occurs.

Subscribe to RSS - Fire Service