Town Twinning

Following the Second World War, Town Twinning was extended in Europe as a means of promoting mutual understanding and cross-border projects.

Town twinning is supported by the European Union and since 1989 The Council of European Municipalities and Regions has worked closely with the European Commission to promote modern, high quality twinning initiatives and exchanges that involve all sections of the community.

The European Union had fostered more than 7,000 bilateral relationships involving almost 10,000 European municipalities and in most cases geographical distance has very little influence upon communities' selections of a twin town. In fact Town twinning has increasingly been used to form strategic international business links.

County Wicklow's ties with Wurzburg were originally established following contact between St. Cronans School and its sister school in Wurzburg, where St. Cronan is the Patron Saint

County Wicklow values its close ties with all its Twin City Partners.

Towns that are twinned:


Co. Wicklow & Bray are twinned with Wurzburg

Seminole County

Co. Wicklow is twinned with Seminole County, Florida


Bray is twinned with Begles, France

Dublin, California

Bray is twinned with Dublin, California,

Montigny le Bretonex

Wicklow Town is twinned with Montigny in France


Wicklow Town is twinned with Einchenzell-Fulda, Germany


Wicklow Town is twinned with Porthmadog in Gwynedd West Wales


Greystones is twinned with Holyhead Anglesey North Wales


Arklow is twinned with Chateaudun, France

Otročiněves, Czech Republic

Laragh / Glendalough is twinned with Otročiněves, Czech Republic