Living  /  Services  /  Environment  /  Climate Action and Biodiversity  /  Climate Action Policy  /  Strategic Policy Committee

Strategic Policy Committee

Climate & Biodiversity Action SPC

The Strategic Policy Committees assist the Council in the formulation, development and review of policy.  The Council is and remains the decision making authority and it is the task of the SPCs, as Committees of the Council, to advise and assist the Council in its work.  The SPC system is intended to give Elected Membes and relevant sectoral interests an opportunity for full involvement in the policy making process of the Council from the early stages.  Sectoral representation is drawn from business, farming interests, environmental / conservation groups, trade unions and community and voluntary members through the PPN.  Following the annual meeting and in an Election Year a new SPC Scheme is prepared for adoption by the Elected Members.  


Below is a list of the current Members of the Wicklow County Council's Climate & Biodiversity Action Strategic Policy Committee:


5 Elected Members:

Councillor Lourda Scott - Chair

Councillor Rory O'Connor

Councillor Mark Barry

Councillor Peir Leonard

Councillor Dermot O'Brien


Membership from External Sources:

Environment / Conservation (East Wicklow): Justin Ivory

Environment / Conservation (West Wicklow): Sharon Jackson

Farming Community: Tom Shortt

Business / Commercial  (Chambers): Gary McKenzie

Construction Industry Federation: Michael Storan

Forestry:  Ken Sweeney

Comhairle Na N'Og:  Kate Dolan