Living  /  Services  /  Environment  /  Beaches & Water Safety  /  Beaches


Details of Co. Wicklow's beaches and bathing waters.

There are six bathing waters identified under the Bathing Water Regulations 2008. These are Bray South Promenade, Greystones South Beach, Silver Strand, Brittas Bay North Beach, Brittas South Beach and Clogga Beach.

The Council also monitors six other bathing waters (termed 'non-identified bathing waters') in the county: South of Bray Harbour, Kilcoole Beach, The Murrough Wicklow, Wicklow Harbour Bathing Area, Wicklow Harbour Lifeboat Area and Arklow South Beach.


Wicklow County Council provides liefguards throughout the bathing season at the following beaches: Arklow South Beach, Greystones South Beach, Brittas Bay North Beach, Brittas South Beach, Wicklow Harbour and Bray South Promenade.

Water quality

Read our page Bathing Waters for water quality results.

Blue Flag beaches

Read our page Blue Flag Beaches for details of Blue Flag Beaches in the county.

Find bathing information from the Environmental Protection Agency