Municipal Districts

Living  /  Your Council  /  Municipal Districts  /  Arklow  /  What We Do

What We Do

Details of the various services provided by Arklow Municipal District.

Arklow Municipal District (AMD) covers a wide geographical area in the east of Co. Wicklow, including the town of Arklow and villages such as Rathdrum, Avoca, Aughrim, Redcross, Annacurra and Glenmalure. AMD covers an area of 48,380 ha with a population of 26,185 (2016 Census).

Some of the many and varied functions carried out by Arklow Municipal District include:

  • Local representation and civic leadership
  • Maintenance and improvement of a vast networks of both local and regional roads
  • Local footpath renewal
  • Management of the housing stock owned by Wicklow County Council
  • Litter control and street cleaning
  • Drain maintenance
  • Maintenance of parks, playgrounds and open spaces
  • Supporting local festivals and community groups
  • Promotion of road safety throughout the district
  • Tourism and economic development
  • Maintenance of burial grounds
  • Improvements to the public realm
  • Provision of public conveniences in Arklow Town
  • Maintenance of Arklow courthouse
  • Liaison with community groups throughout the area
  • Managing a Sponsored Roundabout Scheme
  • Supporting Arklow Town Team