Municipal Districts

Living  /  Your Council  /  Municipal Districts  /  Wicklow  /  What We Do

What We Do

Wicklow Municipal District covers an area of 43,240 hectares which includes the County Town of Wicklow, Rathnew, Ashford, Roundwood, Glenealy, Laragh, Glendalough and Newtownmountkennedy.


Wicklow Municipal District carries out the following functions:

  • Local representation and civic leadership
  • Maintenance and improvement of regional and local road network
  • Local footpath renewal
  • Drain and gully maintenance
  • Maintenance of parks and open spaces 
  • Maintenance of playgrounds
  • Maintenance of all local authority houses in Wicklow Municipal District
  • Maintenance of burial grounds
  • Parking and litter management
  • Street cleaning
  • Provision of School Warden service
  • Management of Assembly Hall Wicklow Town
  • Public convenience maintenance
  • Tourism and economic development & promotion
  • Supporting local festivals and community groups
  • Improvement to the public realm
  • Facilitating the film industry 
  • Liaison with community groups throughout the area
  • Supporting Wicklow Town Team
  • School Warden Service
  • Support Tourism and economic development