Living  /  Services  /  Environment  /  Recycling & Waste Management  /  Community & Schools  /  Green Schools

Green Schools

Information on Co. Wicklow's Green-Schools, Ireland’s leading environmental management and education programme for schools.

Green-Schools is run by An Taisce in cooperation with local authorities throughout Ireland and is sponsored by Coca-Cola Bottlers Ireland Ltd and The Wrigley Company Ltd. Green-Schools is an initiative of the Foundation of Environmental Education and is referred to internationally as Eco-Schools.

The Green-Schools programme can help schools to:

  • Improve the school environment
  • Reduce litter and waste
  • Reduce fuel bills and energy usage
  • Reduce water consumption
  • Promote car-free travel to school
  • Increase environmental awareness
  • Involve the local community
  • Gain local publicity
  • Create links with other schools in Ireland and abroad

Green-Schools is a long-term programme, and the award needs to be renewed every two years. The award is in the form of a Green Flag that can be flown outside the school or displayed in a foyer. Award winners will also receive a certificate, a logo to display on headed notepaper, and other publicity material.

Green Flags awarded in Co. Wicklow

  • All Saints National School, Carnew
  • Avondale Community College
  • Ballyconnell National  School
  • Blesington Educate Together National School
  • Carnew National School
  • Carysfort National School, Arklow
  • Colaiste Bhride, Carnew
  • Colaiste Chill Mhantain
  • Colaiste Chraobh Abhann
  • Crossbridge National School
  • Delgany National School
  • Donard National School
  • Donoughmore National School
  • East Glendalough School, Wicklow  Town
  • Gaelcholaiste na Mara, Arklow
  • Gaelschoil na gCloch Liath 
  • Gaelscoil Ui Cheadaigh, Bray
  • Glebe National School, Wicklow Town
  • Grangecon National School
  • Greystones Community National School
  • Greystones Educate Together National School
  • Hollywood National School
  • Holy Rosary National School, Wicklow Town
  • Jonathan Swift School, Dunlavin
  • Kilcommon National School, Tinahely
  • Kilcoole Primary School
  • Kilmacanogue National School
  • Kiltegan National School
  • Lacken National School, Blessington
  • Marino Community Special School, Bray
  • Moneystown National School
  • Newtownmountkennedy National School
  • Nun's Cross National School, Ashford
  • Our Lady's National School, Rathdrum
  • Presentation College, Bray
  • Rathcoyle National School, Kiltegan
  • Rathdrum Boys National School
  • Roundwood National School
  • Sacred Heart National School, Aughrim
  • Scoil Chaoimhin Naofa, Laragh
  • Scoil Chonglais, Baltinglass
  • Scoil Chualann, Bray
  • Scoil Mhuire, Baltinglass
  • Scoil Mhuire Realt na Mara, Brittas Bay
  • Scoil Na Coroine Mhuire, Ashford
  • Scoil Naomh Brid, Knockananna
  • Scoil Naomh Brid, Kiltegan
  • Scoil Naomh Iosaf National School, Baltinglass
  • Scoil San Eoin, Redcross
  • Shillelagh National School
  • St. Andrew's National School, Bray
  • St. Brigid's National School,  Blessington
  • St. Coen's National School, Rathnew
  • St. Fergal's Senior National School, Bray
  • St. Joseph's National School, Templerainey, Arklow
  • St. Joseph's National School, Valleymount
  • St. Kevin's National School, Ballycoog
  • St. Kevin's Community College, Dunlavin
  • St. Killian's Community School, Bray
  • St. Laurence's National School, Greystones
  • St. Mary and Gerard's National School, Enniskerry
  • St. Mary's Junior National School, Blessington
  • St. Mary's Senior National School, Blessington
  • Sts. Michael & Peter Junior National School, Arklow
  • St. Nicholas' National School, Dunlavin
  • St. Patrick's National School, Curtlestown
  • St. Patrick's National School, Greystones
  • St. Patrick's National School, Wicklow Town
  • St. Peter's Primary School, Bray
  • St. Saviour's National School, Rathdrum
  • Stratford Lodge National School, Baltinglass
  • Wicklow Educate Together National School, Wicklow Town

In Wicklow there are 73 educational facilities registered in Green-Schools, and 90% of primary and secondary schools are registered. There is also a growing number of adult education and specialist educational facilities participating in the programme.

The Seven Steps

  1. Set up a Green-Schools Committee
  2. Environmental Review
  3. Action Plan
  4. Monitoring and Evaluation
  5. Curriculum Work
  6. Informing and Involving
  7. Green Code

The Environmental Awareness Office of Wicklow County Council is working in partnership to promote and assist Green-Schools. For more information contact the the Environmental Awareness Office at eao@wicklowcoco.ie or visit the Greenschools website.