About Wicklow County Council

Wicklow Local Authorities generally have three principle roles:

They are providers of essential public services, which play a great part in the quality of life of individuals and communities. These include public housing, roads and footpaths, water supply and sewerage, fire brigades, waste disposal and recycling facilities, arts and leisure infrastructure.

They are planners and regulators for the betterment and protection of the citizens of Wicklow. Examples are Development Plans, the ‘Outlook’ County Strategy, traffic and transportation Plans, Waste Plans, Housing Strategies, and the regulation of Planning, Waste collection and disposal, Building Regulations, private rented accommodation, drinking water quality, water pollution, etc.

As democratically elected bodies, they are the champions and spokespersons for Wicklow and its people.

Wicklow Local Authorities believe that the people and communities of Wicklow deserve high quality services from their Local Authority.

We will continue to deliver our services to best standards, focussing on the needs of those who use them. Wherever possible and affordable we will improve the quality and effectiveness of these services whether or not they are specifically referred to in our list of key objectives.

County Wicklow is served by 32 Elected County Councillors elected from 5 municipal districts - Bray, Greystones, Wicklow , Arklow & Baltinglass.

Wicklow County Council is based in Wicklow Town but is responsible for services throughout the county. The county is serviced by local area offices and town councils. There are 5 Municipal Districts - Arklow, Baltinglass, Bray, Greystones & Wicklow

Mr. Edward Sheehy is the Chief Executive for Wicklow.