Municipal Districts

Living  /  Your Council  /  Municipal Districts  /  Greystones  /  District Information  /  People of the Year Awards

People of the Year Awards

Greystones MD People of the Year Awards

Information on the annual People of the Year Awards held by Greystones Municipal District.

Due to Covid-19 no Greystones Municipal District/Wicklow Times People of the Year Awards were held in 2020 or 2021.


In normal times, nominations are invited annually for the Greystones Municipal District/Wicklow Times People of the Year Awards.  The nomination categories are Sports; Civic; Special; Cultural; Commercial and Young Entrepreneur.

A person nominated for an award must be proposed and seconded by two different persons and all nominations must be returned to the Council Offices, Mill Road, Greystones, Co. Wicklow before the advertised closing date.  The Awards are presented at a function held locally in the town.

The District Councillors, in conjunction with the Wicklow Times, organise the awards to honour persons for their achievements and their contribution to the community.  The “Special Person of the Year” award is included to recognise people who have overcome personal difficulties in their achievements.  Nominees should be residents of the Greystones Municipal District, except in the case of the Commercial Nominee who may be a non-resident whose business is in the Greystones Municipal District.  The reasons for the nomination should be clearly stated on the form and continued on a separate sheet if required.

To ensure the success of the People of the Year Awards Scheme, it is imperative that all clubs, organisations and businesses participate in the nominations.

2020 Nomination form and details